| T.R | Title | User | Personal Name
 | Date | Lines | 
|---|
| 786.1 |  | AIMHI::CORRIGAN |  | Mon Oct 09 1989 13:43 | 10 | 
|  |     
    I'm sure Gene will jump all over me if I am wrong. You can move those
    leaves away, just as you can move a piece of dirt or any other object.
    You must however, I believe, only use your hand to do this. No swatting
    them with your hat or other object. Hell I was at Passaconaway on Sat.
    and had a 30 foot clear lane to the hole. Of course just as I was going
    to putt, whoosh, leaves everywhere.
    
    Joe
    
 | 
| 786.2 | You can with your hand or club... | MSEE::KELLEY | CUSTOM CLUBS make GREAT Christmas gifts | Mon Oct 09 1989 13:44 | 6 | 
|  |     
    You can use your hand or your club to move as many leaves as you like.
    You can NOT use ANYTHING else to move them (ie. your hat, a towel,
    etc.)...
    
    Gene
 | 
| 786.3 | exi | XANADU::CAMPBELL | Live for today, look to tomorrow. | Mon Oct 09 1989 15:29 | 11 | 
|  |     re .1
    
    Yep, that's where I was too!  The 13th hole...
    I made a nice path for my ball, but for some reason, it didn't want to
    stay in it.
    
    Oh well, now I know for next time.
    
    Thank,
    
    Shawn
 | 
| 786.4 | Ruling on leaves | KOOZEE::WARFIELD | Gone Golfing | Mon Oct 09 1989 16:06 | 20 | 
|  | Re: .1
>    Hell I was at Passaconaway on Sat.
>    and had a 30 foot clear lane to the hole. Of course just as I was going
>    to putt, whoosh, leaves everywhere.
   I find it easier to clean a path about 3 feet upwind from my intended
   line.  That way just as I am getting ready to putt, the wind blows, &
   voila I've got a clean line to the whole.
   Seriously, leaves are the worst part about fall golf.  How many of you
   have hit a perfect drive, right down the middle, never to be seen again
   because it's buried under a leaf somewhere.  Putting isn't so bad, because
   of all the leaves we play automatic two putts once you are on the green.
   That eliminates three putting!
   In the fall I usually play until I loose most all my balls.  Then it's
   time to put the clubs up until spring.
   Larry
 | 
| 786.5 |  | AIMHI::CORRIGAN |  | Mon Oct 09 1989 16:25 | 10 | 
|  |     
    re -1 Larry,
        
          Don't know if you were asking but I believe there is an obsure
    rule that states that if all members of the group agree that a ball
    was clearly "down the middle" and should be there it can be replaced
    without penalty. I sure this will generate some responses. Go easy.
    
    
    Joe
 | 
| 786.6 | Clarification????? | WORDS::NISKALA | Master of the 3 inch putt! | Tue Oct 10 1989 07:43 | 3 | 
|  |     	Somebody had told me that if something in the line is being
    removed, it can only be "brushed" away to remove it, not picked up
    and moved. Is this correct?
 | 
| 786.7 | leaves and dew.. | HIRISK::FAGERBERG |  | Tue Oct 10 1989 09:44 | 7 | 
|  |     
    LOCAL rules apply to lost balls in the leaves.  Our club has it in
    force now.  If your playing partner(s) agree that is where it should
    be, and it can't be found, we drop a ball there, no penalty.
    
     "sweeping" the green, with other than your hand or club?  What rule
    allows the bamboo wisk for dew?
 | 
| 786.8 | It may be picked up... | MSEE::KELLEY | CUSTOM CLUBS make GREAT Christmas gifts | Tue Oct 10 1989 10:53 | 12 | 
|  |     
    RE: .6
    
    Keith,
    
    Rule 16-1... LOOSE impediments may be moved by picking them up or
    		 brushing them aside by hand or a club without pressing
    		 anything down...
    
    	
    
    		Gene
 | 
| 786.9 | ... if you can pick it up! | ENGINE::WARFIELD | Gone Golfing | Tue Oct 10 1989 11:18 | 15 | 
|  | Re: -.1
                          -< It may be picked up... >-
    
    Rule 16-1... LOOSE impediments may be moved by picking them up or
    		 brushing them aside by hand or a club without pressing
    		 anything down...
    
   How ironic last night I flipped through the decisions and just happened
   to read a couple on loose impediments.  To paraphrase them.
  Can a player move a watermelon size rock if it in his way?  Yes, as 
  long as it is not fixed and he can do it without unreasonable delay.
  Can a player ask caddies, spectators, etc help him move a loose impediment?
  (I guess the rock was too heavy for him.)  Yes
 | 
| 786.10 | No dice... | SDEVAX::GRYGLIK | When's our tee time? | Tue Oct 10 1989 12:30 | 19 | 
|  | 	re:    < Note 786.5 by AIMHI::CORRIGAN >
    
    Don't know if you were asking but I believe there is an obsure rule
    that states that if all members of the group agree that a ball was
    clearly "down the middle" and should be there it can be replaced
    without penalty. 
    
    Joe, I had this situation (without leaves) come up this summer.
    One of my buddies crushed a drive straight down the middle of the
    fairway.  We all saw it bounding down the fairway when it landed.
    The fairway was wide open, no one near it, no dogs, squirrels,
    chipmunks, or other "outside agency" to drag the ball away.  Anyway,
    after the round we spent an hour looking through the rule book and
    the Decisions of Golf and couldn't find anything that provided relief.
    The closest we could come to was that it was a lost ball and he
    had to go back to the tee and hit another.
    
    
    					Mike
 | 
| 786.11 | I take it back!! | AIMHI::CORRIGAN |  | Tue Oct 10 1989 14:40 | 8 | 
|  |     
    Mike,
    
    Yeah, I went through the rule book last night and nada. .7 I believe
    has it right with LOCAL rules. Anytime this has ever happened to me
    there is no question but to give ( or take ) a free drop. 
    
    Joe
 | 
| 786.12 | You can! | DUGGAN::BENNETT | John Bennett | Tue Oct 10 1989 16:49 | 9 | 
|  |     This discussion is very interesting, because I distinctly remember 
    chuckling while watching Bruce Devlin on the putting green.  He
    very meticulously picked up every single little piece of material
    on the green between his ball and the hole.  
    
    The only thing you can't do is repair spike marks.  You can clean
    up loose debris.  You can repair ball marks.
    
    John
 | 
| 786.13 | I saw it! | GIDDAY::BARNIER |  | Tue Oct 10 1989 18:08 | 18 | 
|  |     
    
    
    re: Lost ball in fairway..
    
    	I guess this is the same as a plugged ball in the fairway, as long
    
    	as your marker agrees and sees the ball land a ball is dropped no
    
    	no penalty. Plugged balls are probably your spring problem, in
    
    	Australia we've just had a year of rain and the plugged ball
    
    	was comman there one minute gone the next, expensive and a real
    
    	hassle.
    
    	lfb
 | 
| 786.14 | But I'm under 14 clubs !! | DNEAST::STEVENS_JIM |  | Tue Oct 10 1989 21:02 | 7 | 
|  |     I guess this means I have to take my Sears Leave Blower out of
    my bag...
    
    Geez...
    
    Jim
    
 | 
| 786.15 | I can see it now... | SDEVAX::GRYGLIK | When's our tee time? | Wed Oct 11 1989 07:40 | 11 | 
|  |     re: < Note 786.11 by AIMHI::CORRIGAN >
                                 -< I take it back!! >-
      Joe,
    
    I can agree to an extent that a Local rule might allow a player to drop
    a ball without penalty in the fairway, after "losing" it in the middle
    of the fairway, but WHERE in the fairway?  I can foresee the arguments
    in my foursome already.  Whew!
    
    
    						Mike
 | 
| 786.16 | Sprinkler Head non-issue | TRACTR::OSBORNE |  | Wed Oct 11 1989 08:11 | 5 | 
|  |     Did you know that idf a sprinkler head is in your line on the green
    you don't get any relief.  I couldn't believe that when I read it
    in the latest issue of Golf Magazine.
    
    Stu,
 | 
| 786.17 | On the green you do... | MSEE::KELLEY | CUSTOM CLUBS make GREAT Christmas gifts | Wed Oct 11 1989 11:22 | 19 | 
|  |     
    RE: .16
    
    	Stu,
    
    	Rule 24-2
    
    	Interference by an immovable obstrustion occurs when a ball lies
    	in or on the obstruction, or so close to the obstruction that the
    	obstruction interferes with the player's stance or the area of
    	his intended swing. If the player's ball lies on the putting green
    	interference also occurs if an immovable obstruction on the putting
    	green intervenes on his line of putt. Otherwise, intervention on
    	the line of playis not, of itself, interference under the Rule.
    
    	So on the green you get relief from the sprinkler head, off the
    	green you do not...
    
    	Gene
 | 
| 786.18 | Let me see if I got this??? | AIMHI::CORRIGAN |  | Wed Oct 11 1989 12:13 | 7 | 
|  |     
    So Fred,
    
    If my ball is lying directly on top of a sprinkler head, in the middle
    of the fairway, I get no relief?!?!
    
    Ginger
 | 
| 786.19 |  | ENGINE::WARFIELD | Gone Golfing | Wed Oct 11 1989 12:30 | 18 | 
|  | re: .18    
>    If my ball is lying directly on top of a sprinkler head, in the middle
>    of the fairway, I get no relief?!?!
     Wrong, you do get relief.  The point was if you were on the fringe
     & chipping and the sprinkler head was on your line on the green
     its too bad.  Basically the rule is saying that you only get relief
     if it directly affects your swing.  If it's between you and the
     hole too bad (except when you are on the green).
     The rule is clearer when the green is not directly involved.  Suppose
     you hit your ball directly behind a sided rain shelter.  If it interfers
     with your swing you get relief.  If it is a line with you and the
     fairway tough luck, next time don't hit your ball behind the shed.
     Just like you aren't supposed to hit your ball behind trees.
     Larry
 |