|  |     This is a special case of the intent to strike the ball situation.
    I don't believe it would cost a stroke. It does happen on occasion.
    This is not as rare as you would think. I can't site something to
    back me up but I would say, no penalty, no stroke, get another club
    and try again. Anyone else?
    
    Mike
 | 
|  |     
    This falls in that grey area of "interpretation". It would seem
    to me that the rule was that the player *intended* to hit the
    ball, therefore it's considered a stroke, not a *penalty* stroke.
    Just like "wiffing" the ball, it is a stroke, not a penalty.
    
    I have snapped a club at impact, the ball advanced, I can't say
    it was equipment and take another free swing with a different club.
                                           
    On the "intent" rule, this is something that I've always wondered
    about: If I am in the midst of my swing and something distracts
    me and I have no *intention* to hit the ball, but it's too late
    to stop my swing and I lift up to intentionally *NOT* hit the ball,
    then I would think it should not be a stroke. Question is: how does
    my opponent know that I didn't just 'wiff' the shot. Do I have to
    yell "no intent" before my club reaches the bottom of the swing?
 | 
|  |     	I'm 99% positive, that you would be charged a stroke, because
    you intended to hit the ball.  If your equipment broke, causing
    you to not strike the ball, it would be your fault, for using such
    equipment.  I myself, would not charge an opponent the stroke. 
    But in a tournament, where you are playing against many opponents,
    I'm sure they would charge you the stroke.
    	In Mr. Kleins' question.  I have heard before, and this is not
    100% positive, that if you yell or say, NO SHOT, anytime before
    you hit the ball and after you've started your swing, that the shot
    will not count as a storke.  But remeber, if you should get good
    results from that shot, you cannot play it.  This is not the easiest
    thing to do anyway.  But I have heard this more than once before.
    Once you make contact with the ball though, it's to late, and the
    stroke counts.
                                                 Beak
 |